University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

breadfruitSelected Databases

Back to the Pacific Collection.

Below are links to selected databases that are of particular use in finding Pacific-related materials. With a few exceptions (as noted in the database descriptions), the majority of these databases are paid for by subscription through the University of Hawaii-Manoa Library, and are therefore available only to UH-Manoa students and faculty, with valid ID. Databases are listed in alphabetical order. To search materials held in the University of Hawaii Library system, see also the Voyager online public access catalog.

Academic Search Premier

Provides full text for 3,288 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Hawaii residents with a current Hawaii Public Library System Card (and a valid personal identification number [PIN]) can also access this database through the Hawaii State Public Library System's collection of commercial electronic databases.

Anthropological Index Online (AIO)

Anthropological Index Online is an index to periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library, incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library. *FREE PUBLIC ACCESS.

Australasian Digital Theses (ADT)

The Australasian Digital Theses (ADT) Program is a open-access database of theses produced by postgraduate research students at Australian universities. It provides a mix of citations/abstracts and downloadable full-text files*FREE PUBLIC ACCESS.

Australasian Literature Online

Australasian Literature brings together creative works from throughout Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands. Starting in the 1930s and spanning up to the present, these in-copyright fictional and poetry works will be cross-searchable for the first time. With 120,000 pages at completion, and enriched with interviews, Australasian Literature is an incomparable resource for researchers in the fields of Literature, Creative Writing, Post-Colonial Studies, Immigration Studies, Social Studies, Anthropology and more.

Current Research @ University of Hawaii

Complete full text of University of Hawaii theses and dissertations from 1996 to present. Use Dissertations and Theses for citations, abstracts, and previews of work from other institutions.

Dissertations & Theses (formerly Digital Dissertations)

Dissertations & Theses (PQD&T), formerly ProQuest Digital Dissertations database, includes bibliographic citations for the doctoral and master's work of authors from more than 1,000 graduate schools and universities dating back to 1861. More than 750,000 dissertations and theses from 1997 on have been digitized and are available for PDF download. Print copies of additional dissertations and theses not yet digitized are available for purchase. Citations for dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts.

EBSCOhost

Search over 10,000 full text journals in 20+ EBSCO Host databases covering all subjects. Among the databases covered by EBSCOhost are Academic Search Premier and ERIC, allowing users to search across these and others simultaneously.

eHRAF (electronic Human Relations Area Files) Ethnography

eHRAF is a cross-cultural database that contains full-text information (e.g., books, journal articles, and dissertations) on world cultures. It includes indexes by ethnic group and topics. The database is useful for all disciplines concerned with cultural and social life.

ERIC

ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to search full-text of journals across a broad spectrum of academic disciplines. Note: While Google Scholar is freely available on the web via the Google homepage, UH-Manoa affiliates should use the Library's electronic resources portal (via the link above). Doing so allows access to the full text of all articles that reside within databases and online journals that the Library subscribes to; when searching with the open web version, users will often be prompted to purchase these same articles.

Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians

The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians is generally acknowledged as a major authority on all aspects of music and is widely used throughout the academic and professional community. The online version contains the complete text of the print. See entries for Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia  for overviews, discussions of music and dance, musical instruments, and specific regional topics.

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI)

Hawaii Pacific Journal Index is a Voyager Online Catalog Citation index to roughly 150 journals published in or about Hawaii and the greater Pacific, most of which are not indexed in any other resource. Journals covered include both academic and "popular press" publications, and address a wide range of subject areas. All journals indexed in the HPJI are held by the Hawaiian and Pacific Collections at UH-Manoa. A listing of titles indexed in HPJI is available on the site. *FREE PUBLIC ACCESS.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Collection

Provides full-text journal backfiles in various disciplines. The JSTOR project's primary goal is to build a reliable and comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature. Selected journals in the following subject areas are available: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology and Statistics.

LexisNexis Academic

Lexis-Nexis database of full text articles back more than 20 years from over 5600 publications. Use it to find general news; business and financial information including accounting, auditing and taxation; federal, state and international legal materials; medical and health information and general reference sources.

[See also LexisNexis Statistical for statistical tables from U.S. federal agencies, and state, local, private, association, trade, and intergovernmental organizations. Coverage includes the "American Pacific" (i.e., Guam, American Samoa, Micronesia) as well as Pacific countries with whom various U.S. agencies and industry interact. Abstracts link to full-text documents in a variety of formats. Coverage of some statistical publications goes back to 1973.]

MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.6 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage includes an array of Pacific-related topics, represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. While the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.

NewsBank Readex

Several fulltext collections of legislative documents are available as part of Readex's "Archive of Americana," but the most useful for Pacific scholars is the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980. This collection contains fully searchable, full-text documents of reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives dating back to the early 19th century. Valuable for those seeking primary source material on the United States' government interactions with various Pacific nations and islands.

Project Muse

Project Muse provides access to selected full text of approximately 250 scholarly journals published by university presses. The publishers involved are Johns Hopkins University Press, Carnegie Mellon University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, MIT Press, Oxford University Press, Pennsylvania State University Press, University of Hawaii Press, University of Texas Press, and the University of Wisconsin Press. Most journals included are in arts and humanities.

Sage Journals Online

Provides full-text access to more than 500 scholarly journals in the fields of Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Technology, Science and Medicine.

Web of Science (includes Social Sciences Citation Index)

A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences (Science Citation Index Expanded), along with the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Approximately 70% of the records have author abstracts. Online coverage from 1980 to present.

WorldCat

WorldCat (World Cat) is the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. It is useful not only to see which libraries worldwide hold specific books with Pacific content -- some of which may not be held by the University of Hawaii collections -- but also as a  resource for finding new material: Many entries include tables of contents, and author searches can often yield not only books written by a specific person, but also chapters they may have authored within larger works.
A less powerful version of WorldCat can also be accessed for freeat www.worldcat.org.

World Development Indicators (WDI) Online

Provides direct access to more than 550 development indicators, with time series data (1960 to present) for more than 200 countries and 18 country groupings. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators, and allows for comparisons across countries throughout the Pacific. Coverage includes both American-affiliated Pacific (i.e., American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands) and the broader Pacific. Data are updated monthly and can be exported to Excel and/or CSV.

Terms of Use  |  UH Mānoa  |  UH System  |  Ask Us
University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library  |  2550 McCarthy Mall  |  Honolulu, Hawaii 96822 USA
808-956-7214 (Reference)  |  808-956-7203 (Circulation)  |  808-956-7205 (Administration)
808-956-5968 (fax)  |  Email Us