University of Hawaii at Manoa Library

Databases & Indexes

Back to the Hawaiian Collection.


HAWAIʻI - LIBRARIES

Hawaiʻi Voyager Search Hawaiʻi Voyager to find books, videos and CDs held at UH System libraries.


HAWAIʻI - NEWSPAPERS AND JOURNALS

Hawaiʻi Pacific Journal IndexSearch here to find articles in magazines and journals published in or about Hawaiʻi and the Pacific.

Chronicling America Find full-text articles from historic Hawaiʻ'i and U.S. newspapers, between 1836-1922.

Hawaiʻi Newspaper Index Search here to find articles in the Honolulu Star-Bulletin and the Honolulu Advertiser, the two main dailies for Honolulu. Indexing begins in 1990 and is current through approximately 4-6 weeks prior to today. Indexing for the period between 1929-1994 is available in print format.

Hoʻolaupaʻi, He ʻOhina Nūpepa ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi Hawaiian language newpapers, digitized, searchable and browsable. Via Ulukau.

Bob Krauss Research Index Search here to find articles in a number of English language newspapers from Hawaiʻi. Indexing is not comprehensive, but is extensive and covers early years well back into the 1800s that other indexes do not, and papers that are not indexed elsewhere. See the About page for more details.

Honolulu Record The Honolulu Record, published between 1948 and 1958, offered "investigative, crusading journalism that attacked the Establishment for racism, 1st amendment infractions, police brutality, improper political fundraising, sub-standard plantation housing" (from Helen Chapin's Guide to Newspapers of Hawaiʻi). A digitization project of the Center for Labor Education and Research, UH-West Oʻahu.

Helen Chapin's Guide to Newspapers of Hawaiʻi, 1834-2000 Helen Chapin's Guide to Newspapers of Hawaiʻi, 1834-2000 provides descriptions of Hawaiʻi's newspapers, including years of publication, place of publication, language, target audience, and publishers. Use this index to find titles of newspapers published in Hawaiʻi during a particular time period, targeting a certain audience, written in a particular language, etc. Note, this is not an index to newspaper content and articles; rather, it is an index of newspaper titles.


HAWAIʻI - MUSIC

Huapala Excellent collection of Hawaiian song lyrics. Note that the titles of the songs included here are searchable in Amy K. Stillman's Hawaiia Songs index.

Hawaiʻi Sheet Music Index The Hawaiʻi Sheet Music Index contains approximately 1,300 bibliographic records of songs and sheet music about Hawaiʻi. These records identify material located in the Bishop Museum Library, the Hawaiʻi State Library and the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Library's Hawaiian Collection. The Hawaiʻi Sheet Music Index is now fully integrated into the University of Hawaiʻi Libraries' online catalog Hawaiʻi Voyager. It can be searched separately or as part of the libraries' full catalog.

Indexes and lists of Hawaiian chants and songs in published and recorded sources. Compiled by Amy Kuʻuleialoha Stillman.
Amy K. Stillman's Hawaiian Chants: An Index of Published Sources and Audio Recordings
Amy K. Stillman's Hawaiian Songs: An Index of Published Songbooks


HAWAIʻI - OTHER

Papakilo Database (Office of Hawaiian Affairs) An extraordinary collection of materials pertaining to significant places, events, and documents in Hawaiʻi's history. Requires that users set up a login and password (free of charge).

Lloyd J. Soehren's Catalogs of Hawaiʻi Place Names Compiled from the records of the Boundary Commission and the Board of Commissioners to Quiet Land Titles. Includes the islands of Kauaʻi, Oʻahu, Molokaʻi, Lānaʻi and Hawaiʻi. Searchable by place name, ahupuaʻa, island, comments and lexicography, including combinations and Boolean and/or.

Also available on Ulukau. Distinctions between this site and Ulukau: This site includes all of the Oʻahu Catalog, but does not include the following islands that do appear on Ulukau: Kaʻula, Leeward Island, Lehua, Nihoa and Niʻihau.

Center for Oral History Index Indexes individual interviews from selected COH projects. Searchable by interviewees' names, ethnicity, sex, occupation and interview subjects.


OTHER INDEXES

Access to these indexes is available through library subscription only. The links to these indexes take you through a gateway login page for UHM students and faculty.

JSTOR JSTOR is an online collection of full-text articles from a multidisciplinary selection of scholarly journals. It is one of the best e-resources we can recommend for Hawaiʻi and Pacific research. One of its strengths is its backfile of articles, which goes back farther than most journal indexes. UHM Library subscribes to the following JSTOR collections:

Don't worry about all the different links too much; as far as we can tell each link will get you to the library's full subscription to JSTOR. A list of the journals included in each collection, as well as a full list of all the JSTOR collections (we do not subscribe to all of them) is at: http://www.jstor.org/page/info/about/archives/collections.jsp.

Project MUSE Project MUSE offers online full-text access to a collection of scholarly journals published by university presses, in the arts and humanities. Content is strong for Hawaiʻi and the Pacific.

Sage Journals Online Sage Journals Online offers online full-text access to a collection of scholarly journals in the social sciences. Content is strong for Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Note that online access to some of the articles is not included in our library's subscription. Workarounds: 1) Click the box that limits your search to "SAGE Content Available to Me," 2) Run the full sarch and then search for paper copies of non-online journals in Hawaiʻi Voyager.

Alt-Press Watch Alt PressWatch is a full text database comprised of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Current coverage includes approximately 100 titles going back to 1995.

Ethnic News Watch Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text general reference database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press -- English and Spanish language. The titles in Ethnic NewsWatch represent the diversity of the American population in ways that are generally not seen in the mainstream media.

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa. All rights reserved.
Last updated August 2011

Terms of Use  |  UH Mānoa  |  UH System  |  Ask Us
University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa Library  |  2550 McCarthy Mall  |  Honolulu, Hawaii 96822 USA
808-956-7214 (Reference)  |  808-956-7203 (Circulation)  |  808-956-7205 (Administration)
808-956-5968 (fax)  |  Email Us